Once you receive a ticket in Massachusetts for drunk driving, it is a good idea to talk to a Massachusetts OUI / DUI Lawyer. Drunk driving is considered a serious crime so having an experienced local attorney that knows the ins and outs of traffic court might just help save you money and even prevent jail time.
A DUI is charged as an OUI or operating under the influence in Massachusetts. Without an experience attorney, for just your first offense you could get a fine of $5,000, points on your Department of Motor Vehicle driving record and even a jail sentence up to 30 months and a alcohol educational program. That is not even taking into consideration that your driver’s license could be suspended for up to a year. To top it all off a drunk driving charge can stay on your driving record for up to 10 years. Additionally if this is your second or third OUI or more your fines and penalties are even worse.
A Massachusetts OUI attorney can figure out if there are any mitigating factors that a judge may want to know about and use them to help get your charges reduced. Some of the unique factors that could apply to your case are your previous driving record if it is good, a mechanical issue with your vehicle that you could not prevent, or if you had a legitimate emergency.
While the majority of people do not understand at first how serious a OUI driving charge can be, they figure it out fast when their whole life changes in the blink of an eye. The domino effect caused by being charged with drunk driving may just start with losing some money, but then if you get jail time or lose your driver’s license you could lose your job, which will lead to even farther troubles.Contacting us to reach a DUI attorney is the first step in the right direction to keep your life as unchanged as possible, preventing a criminal record and hopefully keep your license while staying out of jai