In Massachusetts, drivers are required to carry a minimum of $8,000 in Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance. Given all of the additional insurance requirements imposed on drivers, PIP insurance can quickly seem like an unnecessary burden. Many may choose to reduce or eliminate their PIP coverage by purchasing a deductible. Before you do so, however, keep in mind that PIP coverage offers an additional level of security you shouldn’t go without.
Protection When You Need it Most
Determining who is at fault for a car accident says a lot about the person that will be responsible for covering the cost of injuries and property damage. But with PIP insurance on your side, your medical bills and lost wages are covered even if you are at fault.
State law is very specific when it comes to PIP insurance. If you have private health insurance, PIP will pay the first $2,000 in medical bills. All additional bills will be sent to your health insurance. PIP will pay for 75% of all lost wages occurring from the accident. However, the total amount covered by PIP for both lost wages and medical bills is $8,000.
PIP insurance casts a wide net over who is covered. All occupants of your vehicle are covered by PIP, as well as all household members who are injured while occupying a vehicle that does not have required Massachusetts insurance. Pedestrians who are injured by a vehicle that does not have insurance or flees the scene are also covered by PIP.
Purchasing a PIP deducible is simply not in your best interests. While it will certainly lower your rates, it also implies that you are self-insuring yourself. This means that you alone are responsible for the first $8,000 of lost wages and medical bills – a sorry realization for car accident victims.
If you were involved in a car accident and have questions about you PIP coverage, don’t hesitate to call our Worcester car accident lawyers. We look forward to resolving your case successfully!