Even hard-working, law-abiding citizens of Massachusetts can experience a momentary lapse in judgment. Perhaps you stopped at a colleague's going away party after work, enjoyed a few drinks with your co-workers, and got into your car without considering the possibility of being too impaired to drive. A few miles down the road, a police officer pulls you over, administers a field sobriety test, and places you under arrest for drunken driving.
Whether you think you drove under the influence or not, a conviction can carry serious consequences. It is imperative to retain an OUI / DUI lawyer from the Law Office of Robert W. Kovacs, Jr. immediately to defend you against this charge.
Possible Penalties for an OUI/DUI Conviction in Massachusetts
If you are 21 years of age or older, you may not operate a motor vehicle if your blood alcohol level (BAC) is greater than .08. The maximum allowable BAC drops to .04 for drivers of commercial vehicles and .02 for drivers aged 16 to 20. As a first-time offender, you could receive a jail sentence up to 30 months and a fine ranging from $500 to $5,000. You could also lose your driver's license for up to one year. The penalties only get more severe with additional offenses, including the requirement to use an ignition interlock device.
You Have the Right to Defend Yourself
You are not automatically guilty of driving under the influence if you fail a field sobriety test. Several factors can influence the outcome of the test, including medication you take, nervousness, and faulty equipment. The arresting officer must also inform you of your rights via the Miranda warning.
At the Law Office of Robert W. Kovacs, Jr., we challenge the prosecution to show indisputable evidence that you operated your vehicle while above the legal limit for intoxication. It is important to remember that the prosecution bears the burden of proof and that you are innocent until proven guilty. We encourage you to contact us to learn more about our legal defense strategies in OUI/DUI cases.