Do you know what the laws regarding operating under the influence in Massachusetts are? Here is a by-the-numbers look, with information provided by NOLO's DUI Driving Laws.
.08%: The legal BAC (blood alcohol content) limit in Massachusetts for drivers over the age of 21.
.04%: The BAC limit for commercial drivers.
.02%: The BAC limit for drivers under the age of 21.
30 Months: The maximum jail time in Massachusetts for drivers convicted of their first OUI offense.
$500-$5,000: The fines imposed on first time OUI offenders who have been tried and convicted in court.
1 year: The amount of time your license may be suspended if you are found guilty of OUI and it is your first offense.
180 days: The amount of time the state of Massachusetts can suspend your license if you refuse to take a blood alcohol test and it is your first offense.
Up to five years: The amount of jail time a person can receive upon being convicted of OUI if it is their third, fourth, or fifth offense.
Second offense: Upon conviction of your second OUI offense in Massachusetts, you not only face a suspension of your license but the requirement to use an Ignition Interlock Device when you get your license back. With the IID you must take a blood alcohol content breathalyzer each time you start your car. If the machine reads your BAC as over a predetermined limit, your car will not start.
If you've been charged with drunk driving in Massachusetts, it is important that you obtain an OUI / DUI Lawyer as quickly as possible. The Law Office of Robert W. Kovacs, Jr. is ready to help you fight your charge by challenging the validity of the evidence against you, questioning the information provided in police reports, and help to disprove the results of breathalyzer and field sobriety tests. Avoid the strain that a OUI conviction and a driver's license suspension will place on your personal and professional life. Contact us today.