Why do you need OUI/DUI lawyer? That's a pretty good question. Luckily, we've got four pretty good answers.
- First, to explain the difference between an OUI and a DUI. In many states, a DUI, driving under the influence, is the standard drunk driving charge, so this is the term most people know it by. In Massachusetts, all drunk driving charges are termed OUIs, which stands for operating under the influence.
- Second, to tell you about the Look-Back Law. The Look-Back Law in Massachusetts is extremely severe. A Look-Back Law is designed to discourage repeat OUIs by requiring the court to consider previous offenses when sentencing. Many states have these laws; the average look-back period is 10 years. In Massachusetts, however, the Look-Back Law is cumulative throughout your life. A clean record of 10, 20, or even 30 or 40 years is not a mitigating factor. If you are arrested for an OUI and you have ever received a sentence for an OUI/DUI before, you will be considered a repeat offender. And the Massachusetts court must also include convictions in states other than Massachusetts.
- Third, to clearly outline the penalties. Like the Look-Back law, the potential fines and other penalties for Massachusetts OUIs are high. You could receive a fine of up to $5,000 for a first offense and a jail sentence of up to 2 1/2 years, In addition, your license could be suspended.
- Fourth, to explain the steep slope possible if you are a repeat offender. For a second OUI, the fine could rise as high as $10,000, jail time of 30 days is mandated, and you could receive a license suspension of two years. In addition, an ignition interlock device in your car is also mandated for repeat offenders under “Melanie’s Law.”
To talk more about this, or anything else, please contact us. Thanks.