Under Massachusetts law, it is illegal to drive if your driver’s license has been revoked or suspended. Below are five facts to know about suspension or revocation of driver’s licenses in Massachusetts.
- First, there are multiple reasons why a driver’s license may be suspended or revoked. Some are driving-related offenses, such as operating under the influence of alcohol (OUI), violating a vehicle law seriously (such as extreme speeding), or using a fake license. A suspension can also occur if you have received 3 speeding tickets in a 12-month span of time or 3 moving violation or surchargeable events in 12 months.
- Second, other reasons may have to do with other violations of law that are unrelated to traffic, such as having an outstanding warrant, failure to pay mandated child support payments, or not registering if you are a sex offender.
- Third, it can also be suspended or revoked if medical personnel or police believe that you are not physically or medically able to operate a vehicle.
- Fourth, if you are charged with driving with a suspended or revoked license for the first time, you may be mandated to pay a fine of from $500 to $1,000. The court may also sentence you to a jail term not to exceed ten days. If you are charged and convicted a second time of driving with a suspended or revoked license, the jail term may rise to between 60 days and one year.
- Fifth, after your suspension or revocation period is over, you will likely have to pay a fee to reinstate it, along with other fees. These fees can be as low as $50 or as high as $1,200. They are determined by the nature of the charge that caused the suspension.
The state of Massachusetts deems driving while your license is suspended or revoked a very serious offense, and the penalties can be severe. It is highly advisable to consult with an attorney if you have been charged with this.